Veteran Lewandowski outflanks Messi and Ronaldo

Menzi Magubane

For the first time in his career, Robert Lewandowski has won the FIFA Men’s Player of the year award. The Bayern Munich striker triumphed over Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo who have dominated over the years.

“Never stop dreaming,” said Lewandowski on his Twitter page.

“Thank you so much for this award. It’s an incredible honour to receive this tonight.”   

The ceremony was held virtually on Thursday night from Zurich, Switzerland. 

The 32-year-old Polish striker has been a marvel to watch on his road to the award. 

He scored 55 goals in 47 games as he helped Bayern Munich win the UEFA Champions League, the Bundesliga and the German Cup. 


His accolades last season include Champions League top scorer with 15 goals, Champions League Forward of the Season and UEFA Men’s Player of the Year. 

“I’m already thinking about the next trophies. That’s mine and the team’s mentality. I hope we can celebrate the next ones with the fans.”

There was more success for Bayern as Manuel Neuer won Best Men’s Goalkeeper award. He conceded just 31 goals in 33 Bundesliga games.

Other winners were: 

Tottenham Hotspur: Son Heung-min won the Puskas award for best goal for his incredible solo strike against Burnley last season.

Jurgen Klopp – Men’s Coach of the Year award (Liverpool).

Sarina Wiegman – Fifa Best Women’s Coach award (Holland).

Sarah Bouhaddi – Best Women’s Goalkeeper award (Lyono and France).

Lucy Bronze –  Best Women’s Player (England).

Picture source: @BayernMunich

Weather Banner
Next articleMngqithi ready as Downs face unbeaten Arrows