Ex-mayor now just a plain MMC

By Doreen Mokgolo

In a case of swings and roundabouts, former Ekurhuleni mayor Sivuyile Ngodwana of the African Independent Congress has found his way back into the municipal executive as a member of the mayoral committee (MMC) for Corporate and Shared Services. 

This is after he was voted out of office in a motion of no confidence tabled by ActionSA last month. Ngodwana is the chairperson of the Super Seven coalition in the council.

The list of the multi-party mayoral committee which is made up of five EFF councillors, four ANC and one from the Super Seven coalition of minority parties, was announced by the newly-appointed ANC mayor, Nkosidiphile Xhakaza, on Monday. 

The EFF retained control of the city’s purse strings, with Nkululeko Dunga reappointed as MMC for Finance.

The EFFs MMC for Environmental Resources and Waste Management, Leshake Manamela, was surprisingly re-appointed to the position. He was heavily criticised last year for seeming to ignore residents’ complaints and protests about extended electricity outages in KwaThema and Tsakane.

Following an outcry, he was moved to Environmental Resources and Waste Management but is now back in his old post. 

The ANC won the position of mayor by sacrificing its MMC for Human Settlements, Malesela Madihlaba, to make space for Ngodwana.

Xhakaza said: “We intend to complete the political term with this mayoral committee [and] political stability is crucial to ensure strategic and continuity in planning and delivery of services. 

“The members will sign contracts committing in their areas of responsibilities and KPIs [key [performance indicators]. There must be a clear plan to assess the team and that must be transparent so that all of us can monitor the performance,” he said. 

Xhakaza said he expects the MMCs to hit the ground running like him, and start delivering services as expected. 

“Ours is to ensure there is provision of sustainable services to all residents, rebuild a strong financial base to support the city’s development and driving economic development, growth and job creation,” he said. 

The MMCs were meant to be sworn into office on Monday, but a delay in the proceedings meant the judge who was meant to swear them could not wait beyond a certain time.

The MMCs listed will be sworn in on Tuesday 16 April: Water and Sanitation: Thembi Msane; Environmental Resources and Waste Management: Leshake Manamela; Community Services: Bridget Thusi; Finance: Nkululeko Dunga; Community Safety: Sizakele Masuku; Developmental Planning and Real Estate: Nomadlozi Nkosi; Roads and Transport Planning: Andile Mgwevu; Energy: Mzayifani Ngwenya; Human Settlements: Kgopelo Hollo; Corporate and Shared Services: Sivuyile Ngodwana. 

Pictured above: The newly-appointed members of the Mayoral Committee for Ekurhuleni. 

Source: Doreen Mokgolo


Recent articles