Zuma’s ANC friends fail to get seats 

By Celani Sikhakhane

  • Leaders who supported Jacob Zuma before the ANC’s 2007 Polokwane conference did not make it onto the ANC parliamentary list.
  • Bishop Vusi Dube, Zet Luzipho, and Themba Mthembu are among the excluded leaders from KZN after the ANC lost many seats in the 29 May elections.

Leaders who strongly supported Jacob Zuma ahead of the ANC’s 2007 momentous Polokwane elective conference where he won the party’s presidency, failed to make it onto the ANC parliamentary list.

The flamboyant Bishop Vusi Dube of the eThekwini Community Church and unionist Zet Luzipho are among the many ANC leaders from KwaZulu-Natal who will not be returning to Parliament or the KZN legislature after the ANC lost many seats in the 29 May general elections.

Another notable exclusion is Themba Mthembu, the SACP’s longest-serving secretary in KZN and once an MEC for Agriculture.

Mthembu, Dube, and Luzipho were among those who openly supported Zuma under the banners of the Friends of JZ and 100 Percent Zulu Boy after he was axed as deputy president in 2006 by then-president Thabo Mbeki.

These groupings mobilised support for Zuma after his axing and during his rape case which he won in 2006.

At the time, Dube, Mthembu, and Luzipho mobilised churches and the working class to rally behind Zuma against Mbeki. 

They strengthened support for the ANC before the 2009 general elections, which helped the organisation win KZN with an outright majority.

When the Diakonia Council of Churches attacked Zuma over corruption in 2008 through the late Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu who spoke at their Good Friday sermon in Durban, the eThekwini Community Church of Dube and Luzipho’s Cosatu publicly rejected Tutu’s criticism.

In return, they were rewarded with influential posts in the ANC, the KZN legislature, and the National Assembly.

However, after the ANC’s disastrous showing in the 29 May elections, they won’t return as members of the provincial legislatures and National Assembly, as they did not make it onto the ANC list of those sworn in today.

Pictured above: Bishop Vusi Dube, Zet Luzipo, and Themba Mthembu. 

Source: X


Recent articles