Inside the MK and EFF coalition

By Zukile Majova

Over two dozen black political parties that are in and outside of Parliament have united to oppose the ANC-led Government of National Unity.

The parties mainly led by Jacob Zuma’s uMkhonto Wesizwe party and Julius Malema’s EFF plan to vote together in Parliament.

The parties will also campaign together in by-elections, protest together in the streets and mobilise society to reject the GNU and undermine President Cyril Ramaphosa.

The GNU forces started working together during the first sitting of Parliament which elected the speaker, the deputy speaker and the president-elect.

The parties in the Progressive Caucus are challenging the IEC election results in the Electoral Court. 

The parties claim to have evidence of election fraud. 

Their first order of business is a motion to put together an impeachment committee in Parliament to force Ramaphosa to account for the Phala Phala robbery cover-up.

Leader of the DA Federal Council, Helen Zille has already confirmed the DA’s position on the Phala Phala saga has changed.

“We won’t vote to impeach a President we voted for, even if the Phala Phala matter is brought back to Parliament,” she said.

“This was part of the agreement with the ANC. So unless there is new evidence of criminality regarding the president, the DA won’t support any motion.” 

On Sunday, Zuma threatened to unleash the anger of the masses as part of a strategy to undermine the Ramaphosa government.

He said the time has come for South Africans to accept defeat or fight.

“I promise to address the nation soon after the meeting with the leaders of the progressive forces when we shall deliver a detailed battle plan for the few months or years until we finally get back our country from the enemies of progress and economic freedom.”

“We can no longer afford to be divided when the enemy is uniting against the people,” said Zuma in Johannesburg on Sunday.

The so-called Progress Caucus is made up of the MK, EFF, UDM, ATM, UAT, Al Jama-ah, the PAC and over 20 smaller parties not represented in the National Assembly.

So far the caucus has 106 seats in the 400-seater Parliament.

Pictured above: Jacob Zuma and Julius Malema. 

Source: File


Recent articles