DA congress fails to account for R10 billion lost in Tshwane

By Doreen Mokgolo

 After seven years of DA rule and over R10 billion that remains unaccounted for in the City of Tshwane, the party is promising stable coalitions in the future.

The capital, Pretoria, which has been under rule since 2016 is effectively bankrupt and has been riddled with poor service delivery, water shortages in black townships, black outs and a crumbling infrastructure.

The Auditor-General report flagged over R10 billion in unauthorised, fruitless spending with the city failing to explain exactly what happened to taxpayers’ money.

After three attempts at electing a mayor following the resignation of DA mayor Randall Williams, the DA-led coalition elected Cilliers Brink last week.

Apart from this, the DA has lost power in Ekurhuleni and the City of Johannesburg, effectively losing control of over R120 billion budgets (Jhb R87bn and Ekurhuleni R37bn) it could have used to demonstrate its abilities when elected to govern.

Over the two-day congress, the party that claims to endorse accountability presented no report on what happened in Tshwane or how it lost three metros it governed in Gauteng.

Speaking at the DA’s 2023 Federal Congress at the Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand, party leader John Steenhuisen said South Africans should not judge all coalitions based on the performance of the three metros.

“We have 38 coalitions in Limpopo, KwaZulu-Natal and Western Cape,” said Steenhuisen. 

“Coalitions have worked well in places like George, Zwellendam and Cape Agulhas municipalities.”

He said the only way to create stability in the metros is by implementing the Private Members Bill which will limit the number of motions of no confidence to once a year.

Meanwhile, at the congress the candidates for the top six positions are:

Federal Council Chairperson Helen Zille (uncontested)

Federal leader – Mpho Phalatse versus John Steenhuisen for the position.

Federal chairperson – Ivan Meyer, Lungile Phanyane and Qhawekazi Mbatha.

Federal finance chairperson – Dion George versus Lungile Phanyane. 

Deputy federal chairperson – Anton Bredell, Jean-Pierre “JP” Smith, Lungile Phanyane, Natasha Mazzone, Nqaba Bhanga, Refiloe Nt’sekhe, Shehana Kajee and Solly Malatsi.

Deputy chairperson of the Federal Council – Annelle Lotriet, Ashor Sarupen, James Masango, Lungile Phanyane, Segope Sathekge, Thomas Walters and Tyrone Gray.

Picture above: DA supporters 

Picture source: Doreen Mokgolo


Recent articles