Sorry SA, no Kohli until after Christmas!

By Razeen Gutta

ICC Cricket World Cup finalists, India, will be without several regulars for the T20 and ODI legs of their South Africa tour, with the likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli landing in time for the boxing day test match.

India named their squads for all three formats this week, with KL Rahul leading the side in the one-day games while Suryakumar Yadav will captain the men in blue for the T20 internationals.

The selection committee, who opted to give Jasprit Bumrah a rest for the white ball leg as well, also named the pacer as vice captain of the test side which Rohit Sharma will lead for the two matches in Centurion and Cape Town.

Sai Sudharshan and Rinku Singh received maiden call ups to the ODI squad while veterans Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara both missed on places in the test side due to the return of Rahul and Shreyas Iyer.

World Cup star Mohammed Shami will return to the red ball squad subject to a late fitness test.

India’s squad for T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami (subject to fitness), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

Pictured above: Virat Kohli

Image source: @mufaddal_vohra


Recent articles