Markram to captain Proteas at showpiece summer series 

By Razeen Gutta

Cricket South Africa have named their highly anticipated squads for the home series against India taking place between 10 December and 7 January. 

Known as the Freedom Series, the tour will feature three T20s, three ODIs and two test matches. 

Following India’s decision to rest Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli from the white ball leg of the tour, South Africa have responded in a similar fashion. Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada will also only play the tests. 

As he continues his role as T20 skipper, Aiden Markram will now take on Bavuma’s role as the ODI captain for this tour. 

Ainrich Nortje and Wayne Parnell both missed out on the squads due to injury while Mihlali Mpongwana, David Bedingham and Nandre Burger all earned maiden call-ups. 

T20I squad:

Aiden Markram (C), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams

ODI squad:

Aiden Markram (C), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Test squad: 

Temba Bavuma (C), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verreynne

Pictured above: Aiden Markram. 

Image source: @criccrazyjohns 


Recent articles